Advisory Groups


The Quality and Standards Group of UK NARIC Services

The UK NARIC Quality and Standards Group (NQSG) came into effect on February 1st 2014, an amalgamation of the former UK NARIC Quality Standards and Core Service Monitoring Groups. The establishment of the NQSG is reflective of the evolving demands placed on UK NARIC and recognises the need for increased engagement and participation from UK NARIC stakeholders and members.

The principal function of the NQSG is to support UK NARIC in safeguarding its standards through the effective delivery of its services whilst maintaining high quality service provision. The group provides feedback and advice to UK NARIC operational units. Group membership is diverse and provides for a broad representation of experience and professional expertise that supports the development of UK NARIC services and methodological work.

In accordance with the UK NARIC contract with the Department for Education (DfE), the NQSG is specifically tasked to support UK NARIC in:

  • Assuring the quality of information provision and recognition processes and procedures, having regard to the Lisbon Recognition Convention, ENIC-NARIC service requirements and the UK NARIC Code of Practice for the recognition of international qualifications;
  • Monitoring the quality and delivery of the NARIC services according to the conditions set out in the NARIC contract
  • Advising on the direction and the organisation of the information development programmes;
  • Advising on the content and presentation of the principal NARIC databases and relevant information provision;
  • Assisting in the validation of recommendations and statements accorded to international qualifications;
  • Advising on the UK NARIC Evaluation Criteria process;
  • Advising on the UK NARIC process and procedures, including the consideration of appeal cases against UK NARIC decisions, both formally and on a case-by-case basis;
  • Providing advice on the range and appropriateness of NARIC services.


The current members of the NQSG are:

  • Alex Bols - GuildHE
  • Steve Bristow - Open Direction Ltd. / British Accreditation Council (BAC)
  • Richard Budd - Liverpool Hope University
  • Kevin Ebenezer - Cambridge International Examinations (CIE)
  • Sioned Evans - British Universities' International Liaison Association (BUILA) / University of Gloucestershire
  • Peter Franklin - Russell Group / University of Oxford
  • Andy Gibbs - Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Cathy Kerfoot - The Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA)
  • John Lewis - Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA)
  • Bella Malins - Russell Group / University College London
  • Lorraine McLintock - Association of Certified Chartered Accountants (ACCA)
  • Emma Meredith - Association of Colleges (AOC)
  • Jochen Pichler - Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS)
  • Chris Reilly - Department for Education (DfE)
  • Peter Swindlehurst - UK Inter-Professional Group (UK IPG)
  • Stephen Vickers - Federation of Awarding Bodies (FAB)
  • Lawrence Watson - Independent
  • Carmen Watton - Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual)